World Teacher Volume 1: Chapter 4 (alternative)

An alternative translation for World Teacher Volume 1: Chapter 4 is now available.

Main page.

Volume 1: Chapter 4

Phew, a much longer chapter than before.
I’ve only lightly self-edited this chapter for now and intend to do another self-edit in a couple of days (maybe after Chapter 5 if I decide to do that).
I tried to convey the humor across when it was there but I’m not sure how successful I was.
I do hope that you can get a pretty good feel for the personalities of the characters that appear within this chapter.

As always, feel free to make suggestions/point out areas for improvement. Oh I have added a few bits to the notes & disclaimers for anybody interested.

Enjoy the alternative Chapter 4 of World Teacher Volume 1!

 

 

****Notes & disclaimers:****

  • These translation(s) are an alternative translation to those done by Defiring and others.
  • Once again, I am not trying to take over the series, but wish to provide an alternative translation for those interested.
  • Defiring (linked above) already has the first few volumes completed and will most likely be translating at a much faster speed than I am.
  • As I am doing this without a translation checker nor editor, these translations are more than likely to contain inaccuracies in translation and terribad Engrish (this is not a MTL though – despite some claims otherwise).
  • As this is something done in my spare time, there is no schedule. I make zero promises, I may drop it at any time.
  • I have added ()’s for continuous chapter numbering. Just +1 to the ()’s for equivalent Defiring chapter numbering.
  • This will be a less-localized version – I will change some SFX and the like to close English equivalents but the majority will be retained in Japanese but converted to romaji (especially honorifics and titles).
  • I will also try to add translator’s notes (TLN’s) where I think further clarification may be needed.
  • This translation’s main aim is accuracy over English flow – I find that when I change some sentences to flow reasonably well into English, while it has the same overall meaning, it’s deviated to such an extent that the author could’ve just written it that way in Japanese (perhaps my weak Engrish is to blame?). In any case, I will willingly sacrifice English flow for accuracy if the sentence is still intelligible in English.
  • If you see any mistakes – feel free to notify me in the comments.

8 responses to “World Teacher Volume 1: Chapter 4 (alternative)

    • Update: I didn’t notice this was a release post. All the information you need is in the Notes & disclaimers in this post.

      Additionally I contacted Defiring a week before I started to offer my assistance, but understandably he’s busy with his academics and told me he’d contact me when it calms down (~mid-June). So I thought I might as well offer an alternative translation of Prologue – Chapter 3 in the meantime, since they haven’t been published by Defiring yet (they were done by others, with the exception of Chapter 2 perhaps?).

      With regards to Chapter 4, after comparing my draft with the existing version, I found that there were numerous differences between the two, so I decided to go ahead with Chapter 4. Note that Defiring himself said he didn’t edit/proof his work until around Chapter 9, so he probably would have fixed most, if not all the discrepancies that I believed I found, once he goes back through it.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment