World Teacher Volume 2: Chapter 1 (8) (alternative)

An alternative translation for World Teacher Volume 2: Chapter 1 (8) is now available.

Main page.

Volume 2: Chapter 1

Compared to existing translations, this alternative one has quite a few differences in interpretation of numerous lines. I hope that people that have already read the chapter somewhere else give this one a go too (only if you want to, I’m not armed!).

Oh in case anyone is wondering, the (8) is the numbering of the chapter if I was to continue numbering instead of numbering by volume (as per Notes & disclaimers). Also, while I’ve labelled them ‘volumes’ and ‘chapters’ they technically should be ‘chapters’ and ‘parts/sections’.

For those who aren’t aware, Defiring is also back from academic hell, so there’ll probably be releases from him (over on his site) very soon.

In any case, I hope you enjoy this alternative translation of World Teacher Volume 2 Chapter 1 (8)! Feel free to make suggestions, leave feedback, ask questions, or point out any mistakes I have made in the comments (in this post, or on the chapter page).

Thank you for reading!

****Notes & disclaimers:****

  • These translation(s) are an alternative translation to those done by Defiring and others.
  • Once again, I am not trying to take over the series, but wish to provide an alternative translation for those interested.
  • Defiring (linked above) already has the first few volumes completed and will most likely be translating at a much faster speed than I am.
  • As I am doing this without a translation checker nor editor, these translations are more than likely to contain inaccuracies in translation and terribad Engrish (this is not a MTL though – despite some claims otherwise).
  • As this is something done in my spare time, there is no schedule. I make zero promises, I may drop it at any time.
  • I have added ()’s for continuous chapter numbering. Just +1 to the ()’s for equivalent Defiring chapter numbering. [Technically the raw is Chapter XX, Part YY – but for now I’ll keep it as Volume XX, Chapter YY.]
  • This will be a less-localized version – I will change some SFX and the like to close English equivalents but the majority will be retained in Japanese but converted to romaji (especially honorifics and titles).
  • I will also try to add translator’s notes (TLN’s) where I think further clarification may be needed.
  • This translation’s main aim is accuracy over English flow – I find that when I change some sentences to flow reasonably well into English, while it has the same overall meaning, it’s deviated to such an extent that the author could’ve just written it that way in Japanese (perhaps my weak Engrish is to blame?). In any case, I will willingly sacrifice English flow for accuracy if the sentence is still intelligible in English.
  • If you see any mistakes – feel free to notify me in the comments.

4 responses to “World Teacher Volume 2: Chapter 1 (8) (alternative)

    • Ahh so many hair pulling moments when I go through my self-editing.
      Kiddosr’s English alter-ego: “That makes no sense. What’s with that run-on sentence!”
      Kiddosr’s Japanese alter-ego: “Deal, with, it. Not fault of mine that Engrish be unwieldy!”

      Oh the hours spent agonizing!

      Liked by 1 person

      • And my first languages are Arab and French so both the English and Japanese sentences seem weird for me, I wish I could just translate French *sigh*

        Like

Leave a comment